wave crushing on stone wall and reflections on stormy sea

Pandora, the spray and some cloudspotting!

Last Easter was a really wonderful time. A week away from work, in one of my favourite places, with no worries in my head and with a great weather to take photos. Almost every day, just before the golden hour, i was taking my backpack, my tripod, my filters and i was going to my spot in the end of the village. The following photos were taken from that spot.

Pandora

Pandora, a photo by eliaslar on Flickr

The spray from the waves, crushing on the rocky coast was blurring my lens. I could feel the salt on my mouth and cheeks but I liked it. A lot actually! It’s a revitalizing feeling, isn’t it? The whole experience became even more exhilarating and dramatic, when the sun popped through the opening in the clouds. Just for the story, Pandora is a 13″ exposure, at f/25 and ISO 100 with the use of a Circular Polarizer and the Heliopan ND4. If you are wondering why this title. I just felt this connection with Pandora’s box myth. The way the sun came through the clouds felt like a box opening, but in a much more positive way than the myth! There was no evil spread on earth this time, just some warmth and light 😉

A spray for the shot

A spray for the shot, a photo by eliaslar on Flickr

What I found, was that my tripod (a Tamrac TR406 ZipShot) was not as steady as it should be in the strong wind. It’s a light tripod and I was not expecting that much from it, in such a weather. So at some point, and after some ruined long exposures, I put it back in my backpack and used a book to keep the camera steady.

Cloudspotting

Cloudspotting, a photo by eliaslar on Flickr

Song time, right? A windy post needs a windy song 😛 Brian Crain – Wind i think that’s the song for this day.

Leave a Reply

